Be Mine in Patience: an Embrace in B minor

Prior to the 20th century, and the emergent dominance of equal temperament, the association of emotions with particular musical keys was common practice.

The Black Glass Ensemble recently revisited this historical alignment of sound and emotion to offer a brief ‘embrace’ in B Minor – the key associated with patience.

The initial embrace, featuring the 8 musicians of the Black Glass Ensemble and guest Colin Potter, with whom they had been due to perform prior to the Covid19 lockdown, was well received. Consequently, Black Glass sought to widen the reach of their embrace to other musicians to make a more comprehensive piece of work.

The response was unprecedented. 104 musicians returned 251 individual musical tracks to be mixed into this present arrangement.

The full 38’ 50” minute work, “Be Mine in Patience: an Embrace in B minor” is made freely available in the sole hope that this extended embrace may help in some small way to nurture strength, fortitude and comfort.

Stream from the Black Glass Ensemble Soundcloud:

Download from the Omnempathy Bandcamp:

The Black Glass Ensemble:
Michael Begg
Douglas Caskie
Jen Cuthbertson
Neil Cuthbertson
Clea Friend
Julia Lungu
Aisling O’Dea
Ben Ponton

Tommy Aashildrød
The Alaska None
David Allison
Christopher Alvarado
Mkl Anderson
Carsten Aniksdal
Artificial Memory Trace
Matt Atkins
Nigel Ayers
Simon Balestrazzi
Stephen Bishop
Sergey Bulychev
Matt Burnett
Dave Burraston
Ed Carter
Kim Cascone
Don Clemenza
Chris Connelly
Dane Law
Thomas Dimuzio
Pablo Diserens
Anthony Donovan
John Duncan
Kate Ellis
Steve Fors
Clive Graham
Scot Jenerik
Jean Johnson
Dan Joseph
Evan Henderson
Robert Henke
May Haliburton
Mark Hand
Jim Haynes
Liz Helman
Jack Hertz
Kathy Hinde
Marc Hurtado
France Jobin
Andreas Karperyd
Katpis Tapes
Fergus Kelly
Julia Kent
Jon Lee
Edvard Graham Lewis
Andrew Liles
Malcolm Lindsay
Marco Lucchi
Patrick Tubin McGinley
Grey Malkin
Robert Mazrim
Radboud Mens
Emmanuel Mieville
Abul Mogard
James Murray
Philippe Neau
Adi Newton
B J Nilsen
Mike Nolan
Aisling O’Dea
Mike Orr
Chris Osborne
Daniel O’Sullivan
Ivy O’Sullivan
Filippo Panichi
Lee Paterson
Ben Ponton
Colin Potter
Nicola Quiriconi
Audrey Redpath
Ivan Ristić
Carla Santana
Paul sawford
Janek Schaefer
Second Harmonic Generation
Simon Šerc
Tim Shaw
Chandra Shukla
Clodagh Simonds
Steven R. Smith
Jos Smolders
Julia Spooner
Mayor Stubbs
Bill Thompson
Frans de Waard
Warm Digits
Simon Whetham
Gary Wilkinson
Pete Woodhead
James Wyness
Zach Zinn

Cover image by Ben Ponton, used by permission of Sue Cannon